NOVA Elects 2016 Board of Directors – Glenda Herl Elected President

Glenda Herl

Washington, D.C. – At its recent membership meeting in Chicago, the National Organization of Veterans’ Advocates, Inc. (NOVA) elected by acclamation the slate of members nominated to serve on its Board of Directors.  Incumbents Todd Wesche and Zachary Stolz were re-elected and Michelle Wolf will join the NOVA Board for 2016.

In addition, the Board elected its officers:  Glenda Herl as President, Joseph Moore as Vice President, Todd Wesche as Secretary, and Matthew Hill as Treasurer.  The new officers will assume their positions on January 1st.  Ms. Herl replaces Michael Viterna, who will complete his term at year’s end, having served as president since July 2011.

NOVA President-Elect Glenda Herl has been Chief Operating Officer of Carpenter, Chartered in Topeka, Kan. since 1984.  A NOVA member for the past 20 years, Ms. Herl served as NOVA’s volunteer Executive Director from 1995 to 2004, is a founding member of the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims (CAVC) Bar Association, and was the recipient of the CAVC’s Hart T. Mankin Distinguished Service Award in 2000 and 2006.  She is admitted to practice at the CAVC as a non-attorney practitioner.

Stepping up to NOVA Vice President, Board Member Joseph Moore founded Bergmann & Moore, LLC with Glenn Bergmann in 2004.  Based in Bethesda, Md., Mr. Moore supervises the firm’s agency practice representing veterans and their families against the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).  Prior, he served as an Associate Counsel with VA’s Board of Veterans’ Appeals in Washington, D.C.  Mr. Moore is a graduate of Saint John’s University and the University of Minnesota School of Law.

Re-elected to a second term, NOVA Secretary Todd Wesche is the Managing Attorney of the VA Practice Group at The Law Offices of LaVan & Neidenberg, PA. in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.  His legal career has focused almost exclusively on veterans’ benefits law since 2004. Previous to LaVan & Neidenberg, Mr. Wesche was a Senior Associate Attorney at Goodman, Allen & Filetti, PLLC.  Mr. Wesche is a graduate of Suffolk University Law School and the George Washington University School of Law.   He is a veteran of the United States Air Force and is proficient in American Sign Language.

Also re-elected to a second term, NOVA Board Member Zachary Stolz is a partner at Chisholm, Chisholm & Kilpatrick, Ltd., in Providence, R.I.  Prior to joining the firm, he worked in the Judicial Appeals Office of the Disabled American Veterans from 2005 to 2007.  Mr. Stolz serves as President of the CAVC Bar Association.  His is also Vice-Chair of the Federal Circuit Bar Associations’ Veterans Appeals Committee.  Mr. Stolz is a graduate of Rockhurst University and the University of Kansas School of Law.

Serving as NOVA Treasurer, Matthew Hill is a principal at Hill & Ponton, P.A., based in the Central Fla. area.  Mr. Hill focuses exclusively on representing veterans in claims for compensation through VA.  His practice ranges from submitting original claims for compensation for disability benefits at VA regional offices to filing appeals at the CAVC.  He graduated cum laude from the University of Florida School of Law.

New to the NOVA Board, Michelle Wolf has been an accredited VA attorney since December 2008 when she began representing veterans on a part-time, pro bono basis.  After enjoying 15 years as a hospital lawyer, in June 2012 Ms. Wolf left Partners HealthCare to start her own practice dedicated exclusively to representing veterans and their survivors in their claims for VA disability and related benefits. She has been an active member of the Boston Bar Association’s Veterans Committee and its Military & Veterans Pro Bono Project. Ms. Wolf is a graduate of Georgetown University and Boston University Law School.  She also received an MBA from the Sloan School of Management at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The NOVA Board of Directors is also served by Veterans Law Attorneys Chris Attig (Attig Law Firm, PLLC); Ralph Bratch (Bosley & Bratch, P.C.), and Robert Goss (Law Office of Robert B. Goss, P.C.).

2016 NOVA Board of Directors
President - Glenda Herl, Carpenter Chartered
Vice President - Joseph Moore, Bergmann & Moore
Secretary - Todd Wesche, LaVan & Neidenberg, P.A.
Treasurer - Matthew Hill – Hill & Ponton, P.A.
Chris Attig – Attig Law Firm, PLLC
Ralph Bratch – Bosley & Bratch
Robert Goss – Law Office of Robert B. Goss, P.C.
Zachary Stolz – Chisholm, Chisholm, & Kilpatrick 
Michelle Wolf - Veterans Disability Benefits

About NOVA
The National Organization of Veterans' Advocates is a not for profit educational membership organization incorporated in the District of Columbia in 1993.  NOVA is a national organization of attorneys and other qualified members who act as advocates for disabled veterans.  Our goal is to provide excellent representation before the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans’ Claims, the Board of Veterans’ Appeals, and the Department of Veterans Affairs, to veterans who have disability claims against the government resulting from their service as members of the armed forces.  Offices are at 1775 Eye St NW, Suite 1150, Washington, DC 20006.  Phone: (202) 587- 5708, Fax: (202) 587- 5600, Email:


Contact: Katy Whalen, Assistant Director
Tel: (202) 587-5708
National Organization of Veterans' Advocates, Inc.

December 11, 2015